Select Page

Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life

with Gen Kelsang Gomlam

Sundays, 10:00-11:30 AM 

By developing and maintaining compassion and wisdom in daily life, we can transform our lives, improve our relationships with others, and look behind appearances to see the way things actually exist. In this way, we can solve all our daily problems and accomplish the real meaning our human life. In this series, Gen Gomlam will provide inspiring and encouraging teachings from Modern Buddhism, a special presentation of Buddha’s teachings on compassion and wisdom that communicates its essence in a way that is easy to understand and put into practice. Everyone welcome!

 

Cost: $10/Class or Sign up by month and save! Free for KMC Madison Members and Benefactors

Class Topics by Date

 

 

September: Scientific Methods to Solve Our Problems

Sunday, September 1/Wednesday, September 4:                          A Pure World is Possible                                        

Sunday September 8/Wednesday, September 11:                         What is Our (Main) Problem?

Sunday September 15/Wednesday, September 18:                       Mind vs. Brain

Sunday, September 22:                                                                   Buddha’s Return from Heaven Day: The Preciousness of Lamrim

No Class Wednesday, September 25 or Sunday,September 29 due to Fall International Festival 

 

 

October:  Compassion and Wisdom in Daily Life

No Class Wednesday, October 2 due to Fall Festival 

Sunday, October. 6/Wednesday, October 9 :                              Who Are the Kadampas?

Sunday, October 13                                                                         Lamrim: Meditations to Make Our Life Happy

Sunday, October 20                                                                        A Lucky Human Life

Sunday, October 27                                                                        What Does our Death Mean?

 


November: How to Begin

Sunday, November 3                                                                      What’s After Death?

Sunday, November 10                                                                   What is Buddhist Refuge?

No Class Sunday, November 17 due to Midwest Dharma Celebration

Sunday, November 24:                                                                  What is Karma?

 

 

December: Getting Rid of Negativity 

Sunday, December 1                                                                   Protecting Our Future

Sunday, December 8                                                                   Purification: A Buddhist Perspective

Sunday, December 15                                                                Accepting Reality

 

Registration for Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom:
First and Last Name

About the Teacher

Gen Kelsang Gomlam is the Resident Teacher at Kadampa Meditation Center Madison and Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso’s representative in Madison. She has been studying, practicing and teaching Kadam Dharma for many years. Gen Gomlam’s heartfelt and practical teachings are presented with warmth and humor, making them accessible to everyone. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

e. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison

Year at a Glance

December

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays December 4-28 12:00-12:30 PM (No Class Wednesday, December 25)

Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Sundays, December 1-22 10:00-11:30 AM  (No Class December 29)

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, December 1-22 10:00-11:30 AM (No Class December 29)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays December 5-19 7 10:00-11:15 AM (No Class Thursday, November 28)

Streams of Purifying Nectar: Vajrasattva Purification Retreat | Saturday, December 14 9:00 AM-4:00 PM

New Year's Eve Candlelight Meditation for World Peace | Tuesday, December 31 7:00-8:30 PM

January

Long Life and Wisdom Amitayus Retreat| Wednesday, January 1 10 AM-3 PM

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays January 3-31 12:00-12:30 PM (No Class Friday, January 24 due to Special Weekend Retreat)

New! Sunday Morning Series: Happy Regardless: The Power of a Wise Heart | Sundays, January 5-19 10:00-11:30 AM 

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, January 5-19 10:00-11:30 AM 

New Year, New You: Meditations for Relaxation Retreat | Saturday, January 4 10:00 AM-1:15 PM

Lamrim Meditation Retreat | Saturday, January 11-Tuesday, January 14

Blue Sky Mind: Finding Peace Weekend Retreat with Guest Teacher Kadam Kyle Davis |  January 24-26

Special Friday Night Lecture: Happiness from Within with Guest Teacher Kadam Kyle Davis |  Friday, January 24 7:00-8:30 PM

Staying Inside our Blue Sky Mind Retreat With Guest Teacher Kadam Kyle Davis |  Saturday, January 25 10:00 AM-3:00 PM

Special Sunday Class: A Blue Sky Mind in Daily Life with Guest Teacher Kadam Kyle Davis|  Sunday, January 26 10:00 AM-11:30 AM

February

New! Sunday Morning Series: Happy Regardless: The Power of a Wise Heart | Sundays, February 2-23 (Special Sunday Class February 16) 10:00-11:30 AM

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, February 2-23 (Special Sunday Class February 16) 10:00-11:30 AM

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays February 5-28 12:00-12:30 PM (No Class Friday, February 14 Due to Weekend Retreat)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays February 6-27 7 10:00-11:15 AM 

Transform the Way You Love: A Special Weekend with Gen Kelsang Gomlam | February 14-16

Special Friday Night Lecture: Love, Desire, and Relationships with Gen Kelsang Gomlam | Friday, February 14 7:00-8:30 PM

Transform the Way You Love Saturday Retreat with Gen Kelsang Gomlam | Saturday, February 16 10:00 AM-3:00 PM

Special Sunday Class: Love Without Pain with Gen Kelsang Gomlam | Sunday, February 16 10:00 -11:30 AM

Highest Yoga Tantra Blissful Path Vajrayogini Retreat | Saturday, February 29 9:30 AM-4:30 PM

March

New! Sunday Morning Series: Happy Regardless: The Power of a Wise Heart | Sundays, March 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, March 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays March 4-25

Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays March 5-26

Part 1: Friday Night Lecture Silencing the Inner Critic | Friday, March 13 7:00-8:30 PM

Part 2: Connecting with Our Pure Potential Meditation Retreat | Saturday, March 28 10:00 AM-4:00 PM

April

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays April 1-29

Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | April 2-23 (No Class April 30) 

New! Sunday Morning Series: Happy Regardless: The Power of a Wise Heart | Sundays, March 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, March 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM

Compassion Fasting Retreat | Saturday, April 11 6:30 AM-4:00 PM

Friday Night Lecture: Overcoming Anxiety and Depression: A Buddhist Perspective | Saturday, April 17 7:00 PM-8:30 PM

 

Want to Learn More?

Try Us Out for 30 Days Unlimited