Select Page

Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life

with Gen Kelsang Gomlam

Sundays, 10:00-11:30 AM Beginning September 1

and Wednesdays, 7:00-8:30 PM Beginning September 4

 

By developing and maintaining compassion and wisdom in daily life, we can transform our lives, improve our relationships with others, and look behind appearances to see the way things actually exist. In this way, we can solve all our daily problems and accomplish the real meaning our human life. In this series, Gen Gomlam will provide inspiring and encouraging teachings from Modern Buddhism, a special presentation of Buddha’s teachings on compassion and wisdom that communicates its essence in a way that is easy to understand and put into practice. Everyone welcome!

 

Cost: $10/Class or Sign up by month and save! Free for KMC Madison Members and Benefactors

Class Topics by Date

 

September: Scientific Methods to Solve Our Problems

Sunday, September 1/Wednesday, September 4:                          A Pure World is Possible                                        

Sunday September 8/Wednesday, September 11:                         What is Our (Main) Problem?

Sunday September 15/Wednesday, September 18:                       A Permanent Solution

Sunday, September 22:                                                                   Buddha’s Return from Heaven Day Special Event

No Class Wednesday, September 25 or Sunday,September 29 due to Fall International Festival 

 

 

October:  Compassion and Wisdom in Daily Life

No Class Wednesday, October 2 due to Fall Festival 

Sunday, October. 6/Wednesday, October 9 :                              Mind Vs Brain

Sunday, October 13/Wednesday, October 16:                           Lamrim: Meditations to Make Our Life Happy

Sunday, October 20/Wednesday, October 23:                           A Lucky Human Life

Sunday, October 27/Wednesday, Oct 30:                                  What Does our Death Mean?

 


November: How to Begin

Sunday, November 3/Wednesday, November 6:                       What’s After Death?

Sunday, November 10/Wednesday November 13:                    What is Buddhist Refuge?

No Class Sunday, November 17 due to Midwest Dharma Celebration

Wednesday Nov 20/ Sunday, November 24:                             What is Karma?

No Class Wednesday, November 27 due to Thanksgiving

 

 

December: Getting Rid of Negativity 

Sunday, December 1/Wednesday, December 4:                    Protecting Our Future

Sunday, December 8/Wednesday, December 11:                  Purification: A Buddhist Perspective

Sunday, December 15/Wednesday, December 18                 Accepting Reality

Registration for Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom:
First and Last Name
Registration for Wednesday Drop In Class: Compassion and Wisdom
First and Last Name

About the Teacher

Gen Kelsang Gomlam is the Resident Teacher at Kadampa Meditation Center Madison and Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso’s representative in Madison. She has been studying, practicing and teaching Kadam Dharma for many years. Gen Gomlam’s heartfelt and practical teachings are presented with warmth and humor, making them accessible to everyone. 

 

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison

Year at a Glance

 

August

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays August 1-30 12:00-12:30 PM

Free Sunday Morning Class and Fall Open House | Sunday, August 18 10:00-11:30 AM

Sunday Morning Series: The Confidence to Change | Sundays August 18 and 25 (No Class August 4 or 11) 10:00-11:30 AM

Meditation for Kids | Sundays August 18 and 25 (No Class August 4 or 11) 10:00-11:30 AM

KMC Madison Fall Fair and Yard Sale | Saturday, August 31 9:00 AM-5:00 PM

 

September

Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Sundays, September 1-22 10:00-11:30 AM (No Class Sunday, September 29 due to Fall International Festival) 

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, September 1-15 10:00-11:30 AM (No Classes Sunday, September 22 or 29 Due to Fall International Festival and Preparations) 10:00-11:30 AM

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays September 4-27 12:00-12:30 PM

New! Wednesday Night Drop-in Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Wednesdays, September 4-18 7:00-8:30 PM  (No Class Wednesday, September 25 due to Fall International Festival)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays September 5-19 10:00-11:15 AM (No Class Thursday, September 26 due to Fall International Festival)

Mala Making Workshop | Saturday, September 7 10:00 AM- 1:00 PM

Friday Night Lecture: Wisdom: Reliable Intuition | Friday, September 20 7:00 -8:30 PM

 

October

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays October 2-30 12:00-12:30 PM

Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Sundays, October 6-27 10:00-11:30 AM

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, October 6-27 10:00-11:30 AM

New! Wednesday Night Drop-in Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Wednesdays, October 9-30 7:00-8:30 PM (No Class Wednesday, October 2 due to Fall International Festival)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays October 10-31 10:00-11:15 AM (No Class Thursday, October 3 due to Fall International Festival)

Friday Night Lecture: Overcoming Craving and Addiction: A Buddhist Perspective | Friday, October 18 7:00 -8:30 PM

Happiness from the Inside Out: A Meditation Workshop | Saturday, October 26 10:00 AM- 1 PM

 

November

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays November 1-29 12:00-12:30 PM (No Class Friday November 15 due to Midwest Dharma Celebration)

Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Sundays, November 3, 10 & 24 10:00-11:30 AM (No Class Sunday, November 17 due to Midwest Dharma Celebration)

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, November 3, 10 & 24 10:00-11:30 AM (No Class Sunday, November 17 due to Midwest Dharma Celebration)

New! Wednesday Night Drop-in Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Wednesdays, November 6-20 (No Class Wednesday, November 27)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays November 7-21 10:00-11:15 AM (No Class Thursday, November 28)

A Life Without Anger Meditation Workshop | Saturday, November 9 10:00 AM-1:00 PM

Midwest Dharma Celebration | Friday, November 15-Sunday, November 17

 

December

Noontime Meditation | Wednesdays and Fridays December 4-28 12:00-12:30 PM (No Class Wednesday, December 25)

Sunday Morning Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Sundays, December 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM 

Meditation for Kids | Sundays, December 1-29 10:00-11:30 AM 

New! Wednesday Night Drop-in Series: Compassion and Wisdom: Meditations for a Happy Life | Wednesdays, December 4-18 (No Class Wednesday, December 25)

New! Thursday Morning Class: Basic Buddhist Meditations for Busy People | Thursdays December 5-19 7 10:00-11:15 AM (No Class Thursday, November 28)

Streams of Purifying Nectar: Vajrasattva Purification Retreat | Saturday, December 14 9:00 AM-5:00 PM

New Year's Eve Candlelight Meditations for World Peace | Tuesday, December 31 7:00-8:30 PM

 

Starting in 2019

Classes in Milwaukee | New! Series starts September 9, 2019 - Sign up for details and updates!

Fall International Festival at International Kadampa Retreat Center Grand Canyon, USA  | September 27-October 3