Our Center

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison is a friendly and welcoming place for everyone.

We are a  501c(3) non-profit organization that offers weekly drop in classes, beginner meditation classes, lectures, day courses, meditation retreats, group prayers and in-depth study programs.  Located on S. Park St., just north of the Beltline, our Center also features a meditation room, bookstore and community area.

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison was founded by Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso Rinpoche and is a member of the New Kadampa Tradition – International Kadampa Buddhist Union (NKT-IKBU). The NKT-IKBU is an international Buddhist community made up of over 1100 meditation centers and groups throughout the world. We have a Resident Teacher, Gen Kelsang Gomlam, who teaches most of the classes.

Our Center is dedicated to helping the people of Madison find solutions to problems in daily life through reducing stress and developing and maintaining inner peace. Everyone welcome!

If you have any more questions about our Center, please visit the FAQs section to see if any questions may be answered there. Also, please feel very welcome to contact us at info@meditationinmadison.org or 608-661-3211.

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison

2018 at a Glance

 

May

New! Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays May 6-27 10:00-11:30 AM

Overcoming Distraction | Thursdays May 10-31 7:00-8:30 PM

The Power to Be Happy: Free Meditation and Talk at E.D Locke Public Library, McFarland | Wednesday, May 23 6:30-7:30 PM

International Spring Festival KMC Manjushri | May 25-30

 

June

How to Rely On a Spiritual Guide: Enjoying a Lifetime of Inspiration (Part 1) Teachings and Meditations  | Saturday, June 2 10:00 AM- 2:45 PM

Special Sunday Morning Series Class: How to Rely on a Spiritual Guide: Enjoying a Lifetime of Inspiration (Part 2) | Sunday, June 3 10:00-11:30 AM

Puja and Party: Offering to the Spiritual Guide Puja with Food Offering (Part 3) | Monday, June 4 5:00-8:00 PM

New! Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays June 3-24 10:00-11:30 AM

Dealing with Loss | Thursdays June 7-21 7:00-8:30 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday, June 9 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: Love Without Pain | Friday, June 15 7:00-8:15 PM

Good Karma Bowl-A-Rama Fundraiser at Dream Lanes | Saturday, June 23 12:00 PM- 3:00 PM

 

July

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays July 1-22 10:00-11:30 AM

Just Meditate | Saturday, July 7 10:00-10:45 AM

Just Meditate | Saturday, July 21 10:00-10:45 AM

International Summer Festival KMC Manjushri | July 27-August 11

 

August

International Summer Festival KMC Manjushri | July 27-August 11

Just Meditate | Saturday, August 18 10:00-10:45 AM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, August 19 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays August 19-26 10:00-11:30 AM

Fall Friday Night Lecture Kick-off: Staying Calm When Things Go Wrong | Friday, August 24 7:00-8:15 PM

 

September

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays September 2-30 10:00-11:30 AM

Transforming Pain Thursday Meditation Series | Thursdays, September 6-27 7:00-8:30 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday September 8 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: Responding to Rejection | Friday, September 21 7:00-8:15 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, September 23 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Safe Inside Meditation Retreat | Saturday, September 29 9:00 AM-4:00 PM

 

October

What Does It Mean to Be a Buddhist | Thursdays, October 4-November 15 7:00 PM-8:30 PM

International Fall Festival KMC Portugal | October 5-11

Life is But a Dream: An Introduction to Emptiness | October 13 10:00-2:45 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday September 8 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety | Friday, October 26 7:00-8:15 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, October 28 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

 

November

Midwest Dharma Celebration: Medicine for the Mind | November 2-4

What Does It Mean to Be a Buddhist | Thursdays, October 4-November 15 (No Class November 1) 7:00 PM-8:30 PM

Healing from the Heart: Taking and Giving Retreat | November 17 9:00 AM-4:00 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, November 18 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday, November 24 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: How to Survive the Holiday Season | Friday, November 30 7:00-8:15 PM

 

December

Streams of Purifying Nectar: Vajrasattva Retreat | Saturday, December 8 9:00 AM-5:00 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday, December 15 10:00-10:45 AM

Meditations for a Wise Heart | Thursdays, December 6-20  7:00 PM-8:30 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, December 16 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Festival of Lights Christmas Eve | Monday, December 24 7:00-8:30 PM