Meditation and Modern Buddhism

KMC Madison is dedicated to helping the people of Madison find solutions to problems in daily life through reducing stress and developing and maintaining inner peace. Modern Buddhism is a practical presentation of Buddha’s teachings that can easily be integrated into our busy lives.

Weekly Classes and Weekend Courses

KMC Madison offers a variety of classes, drop-in meditations, retreats, and group prayers for those interested in increasing their understanding and experience of Buddhist philosophy and practice. You do not have to be a Buddhist to attend the classes, or benefit from the techniques taught.

A Growing Community

KMC Madison is a Kadampa Buddhist community who share a similar wish to make their lives meaningful by finding lasting peace and happiness from within and helping others to do the same. Together, we try to inspire and empower people to reach their full spiritual potential in order to be of greatest benefit to their family, friends, and the world.

Kadampa Meditation Center Madison

2018 at a Glance

 

June

New! Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays June 3-24 10:00-11:30 AM

Dealing with Loss | Thursdays June 7-21 7:00-8:30 PM

Good Karma Bowl-A-Rama Fundraiser at Dream Lanes | Saturday, June 23 12:00 PM- 3:00 PM

 

July

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays July 1-22 10:00-11:30 AM

Just Meditate | Saturday, July 7 10:00-10:45 AM

Just Meditate | Saturday, July 21 10:00-10:45 AM

International Summer Festival KMC Manjushri | July 27-August 11

 

August

International Summer Festival KMC Manjushri | July 27-August 11

Just Meditate | Saturday, August 18 10:00-10:45 AM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, August 19 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays August 19-26 10:00-11:30 AM

Fall Friday Night Lecture Kick-off: Staying Calm When Things Go Wrong | Friday, August 24 7:00-8:15 PM

 

September

Sunday Morning Series: Learning to Be Happy | Sundays September 2-30 10:00-11:30 AM

Transforming Pain Thursday Meditation Series | Thursdays, September 6-27 7:00-8:30 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday September 8 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: Responding to Rejection | Friday, September 21 7:00-8:15 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, September 23 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Safe Inside Meditation Retreat | Saturday, September 29 9:00 AM-4:00 PM

 

October

What Does It Mean to Be a Buddhist | Thursdays, October 18-November 15 7:00 PM-8:30 PM * No Class November 1

International Fall Festival KMC Portugal | October 5-11

Life is But a Dream: An Introduction to Emptiness | October 20 10:00-2:45 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday September 8 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety | Friday, October 26 7:00-8:15 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, October 28 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

 

November

Midwest Dharma Celebration: Medicine for the Mind | November 2-4

What Does It Mean to Be a Buddhist | Thursdays, October 4-November 15 (No Class November 1) 7:00 PM-8:30 PM

Healing from the Heart: Taking and Giving Retreat | November 17 9:00 AM-4:00 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, November 18 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday, November 24 10:00-10:45 AM

Friday Night Lecture: How to Survive the Holiday Season | Friday, November 30 7:00-8:15 PM

 

December

Streams of Purifying Nectar: Vajrasattva Retreat | Saturday, December 8 9:00 AM-5:00 PM

Just Meditate | Saturday, December 15 10:00-10:45 AM

Meditations for a Wise Heart | Thursdays, December 6-20  7:00 PM-8:30 PM

Center Cherishing Day | Sunday, December 16 12:00 PM -2:00 PM

Festival of Lights Christmas Eve | Monday, December 24 7:00-8:30 PM